According to the College Board, the PSAT/NMSQT (Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test) provides practice for the SAT and a chance to qualify for National Merit scholarships. Similar to the SAT, it measures critical reading skills, math problem-solving skills, and writing skills.

The PSAT is designed to be taken in either the 10th or 11th grade. (Note: National Merit qualification is available only to 11th grade students.)


Five sections (2 hours and 10 minutes):

  • Two 25-minute Critical Reading sections (48 questions)
  • Two 25-minute Math sections (38 questions)
  • One 30-minute Writing section

(What's on the Test)

Test Dates

The PSAT test dates are in the middle of October, on a Wednesday and a Saturday.

(Registration and Dates)

Resource Links